November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

April 06, 2002 // 8:01 p.m. // Take 5 in words

I arrived just ten minutes before the plays were scheduled to begin, and had difficulty finding a seat for closing night. I was able to find something stage left next to Veater, Shay, just behind a girl I knew my senior year that I saw earlier this week at a bank and just in front of Alisha, Amber's younger sister.

Side note: Amber attended school with me from kindergarten through eighth grade. We worked at the Utah Museum of Natural History from seventh through tenth grade. Alisha was also an intern, and a center of attention because of her beauty. I resented her for it. She and B also worked at Sears, and literally walked out on the job together last summer.

So Veater. I hope to God she doesn't like me. I'm all about giving everyone who crushes on me an equal shot, but she's something else. If this is indeed a crush on her part, it's an out of nowhere crush, beginning much like Angie's did on me. By all of the sudden showing an interest after never saying a word to me.

The first thing she asked me was how long I had been growing my hair. When I told her just over a year, she told me that my hair grows slow. Umm, not really. I just don't like it when it's all poofy.

I'm maintain my status as a "Veater hater."

During the intermission, I took to talking to Hailey, who doesn't seem as talkative toward me since I graduated. It can't be because of my issues with her step-sister. I haven't brought them up with her since...forever.

Sandra. Or Sandy rather, as she began going by in 10th grade. (a fellow drama kid that I hadn't seen since graduation) brought Hailey. For Sandy it was a double take at my hair, before she gave it a dusting and said, "I love it."

I was never close to Sandy, but truly should have been. We went to preschool together. Grade K-12 too. We worked at the Utah Museum of Natural History together and went on countless trips with each other until she got into acting. In our year of drama classes, drama parties etc, we rarely spoke unless it was to compliment each other's handstand abilities or general observations about the rest of the group.

Sandy was also the only other drama kid from the west side of the city, which made our bond a little closer.

Let's just let her say it herself, shall we?

We made it! From elementary school to YTY to high school grad. We've been through it all. We are the true west siders. I love your intelligence and your insights. Keep in touch.

Sometimes I can get so sidetracked.

Also at Take 5 on Thursday were Brandie (Crystal's sister) and Ally. Brandie was always notorious for dating nearly every intern at the museum and Ally was notorious for her nickname of Ally McBeal. She's a dead ringer for Calista Flockhart and just as skinny.

I also spent Thursday conversing with Erin, who I spent the most time hanging out with of all the drama kids. It's weird to have not seen each other in years, but to have exchanged birthday gifts and read about each other daily for the past year.

Ex-crushes seen that I didn't speak to: C-Lee, Michelle.

Ex drama kids/big meanies that I saw and didn't speak to: Anna.

The most genius person I'd like to hang out with more: Emily, the writer of the play that sent me running in heels four sizes too small while carrying Erin on my shoulder.

The plays this year weren't bad, but I'm partial to the 1999 and 2000 plays. It was what I call a "rebuilding year" in the drama department. They lost a whole heap of talent in the years preceeding this one.

I did find it surprising that Mike was in a play. We hung out last weekend and I had no idea he was doing the whole drama thing.

After the traditional curtain call and gifts for the directors, writers and producer, Take 5 ended it's run for 2002.

Now it's no secret I crushed on Polo. She was there because she was a playwright and I didn't know how to talk to her after only seeing her briefly once in the past two years. There was an awkward situation last year where G called her pretending to be me to ask her to go with him to a dance. He was desperate for a date and wanted me to call her. Polo and I went to Junior Prom together, had a great time, and I've been crushing ever since.

Numerous times I walked past her, wanting to talk to her, but holding off. Typical crush things. Finally, as I was leaving, I stopped to talk to her.

(As my barely clever aliases go out the window)

J: Katherine. Congratulations.

K: Thank you. I like your hair. It's kind of got a Jimi Hendrix thing going on.

J: Yeah, well it was nice talking to you.

Her compliment lifted my spirits. Major crushing. Though this time it's on someone with similar interests as me. I rode that high well into the night.

I had forgot how it felt to have a true crush. Not just the type where you think someone in your class is attractive, but something more. Don't expect anything to come out of this. I just plan on crushing from afar unless she likes me and decides to make some kind of a move.

But don't expect that to happen either.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin